Desperately Wanting Wednesday: (8)Ashes by Kenzo Kitakata & Emi Shimokawa (Translator)

Desperatly Wanting Wednesday, hosted by Parajunkee's View

Ok guys, I’m going to start using Desperately Wanting Wednesday sometimes and Waiting on Wednesday sometimes. I find that sometimes I’m searching out books just for Waiting on Wednesday when I could be just posting some books that I need to read 😀 Desperately is hosted by Parajunkee, it’s kind of based off Breaking the Spine. Please enjoy whatever the week brings 🙂

The vice and virtues of middle age are espied with an eagle eye in this hardboiled story about a mid-career gangster. Unfolding thorugh chiseled sketches and run through with tantalizing motifs, Kitakata’s masterpiece follows the fortunes of a yakuza mobster as his moment of truth approaches. Cool, real, and cleansing, Ashes is a literary tonic.

I’m pretty sure I bought this when I was still in college and just didn’t have time to read it. Seeing as I graduated in 2007 I think it’s about time to get this show on the road. Don’t you think? You’ll definitely being seeing this in 2013.

Comment for me baby!

