Crap My Friends Make Me Read (7): Zombies Vs. Unicorns by Holly Black (Editor) & Justine Larbalestier (Editor)

It’s a question as old as time itself: which is better, the zombie or the unicorn? In this anthology, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier (unicorn and zombie, respectively), strong arguments are made for both sides in the form of short stories. Half of the stories portray the strengths–for good and evil–of unicorns and half show the good (and really, really bad-ass) side of zombies. Contributors include many bestselling teen authors, including Cassandra Clare, Libba Bray, Maureen Johnson, Meg Cabot, Scott Westerfeld, and Margo Lanagan. This anthology will have everyone asking: Team Zombie or Team Unicorn?

Recommended by: Nocturne

This took me forever to read! Goodreads says I started it in June…well, I guess that’s true. It’s not because it was bad but because I’m bad a reading short story anthologies. There were some that I loved, like the ones by Meg Cabot and Diana Peterfreund. But then again there were some that just didn’t catch me. I was really excited to read the story by Libba Bray since I enjoyed Going Bovine so much but alas, I was let down. If she turns that short into a full on novel, I’m in. But the problem with it, like so many short stories, is that it’s too short.

It was really fun to see the different takes that authors took with zombies or unicorns but I am team unicorn, not just because they’re cooler but because those stories were just better.

3bats

Comment for me baby!

