Crap My Husband Makes Me Read: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin

Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens.

Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; and a determined woman undertakes the most treacherous of journeys. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

I’m going to preface my review with letting you guys know that I listened to the audiobook on this one and that’s why it took a million years to finish (3.5 months). It was 28 disks long! Thank God the narrator was fabulous or else I would have stopped that bad boy after one disk and switched to the book.

I won’t tell you all the things that you’ve heard a million other times from a million other reviews. (hopefully) I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. Before I read the comic and then moved onto the HBO series, I really did not expect to like this let alone become so invested in all the characters. I loved so many characters especially John Snow, Tyrion Lannister, and Daenerys Targaryen. I patiently waited until their chapters and held my breath for them when something bad happened. I swear my heart broke when I heard Tyrion’s sad love story. But then there are characters you hate, and you hate them so much that you can’t wait to get back to their chapters so you can hopefully see them die off.

All the hype that’s involved in this book is well deserved. That said, it’s still a mountain of a book. Not just long, but also it has so much content that I’m not going to start the next one right away. I need a breather and some fluff after that.

Audiobook Review:
Narrator: Roy Dotrice
Duration: 33 hours 47 minutes

I was really impressed with Roy’s narration. He surprised me with his female characters voices. They were feminine without making him sound stupid. I loved how each person sounded different. And that’s a great feat when you think about how many characters there are in this one.

5bats (1)

2 thoughts on “Crap My Husband Makes Me Read: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin

  1. Ohh I want to get the audiobook too now. But 28 disks…ahhh???

    Like

Comment for me baby!

