REVIEW: Because I Am Furniture by Thalia Chaltas

Anke’s father is abusive. But not to her. He attacks her brother and sister, but she’s just an invisible witness in a house of horrors, on the brink of disappearing altogether. Until she makes the volleyball team at school. At first just being exhausted after practice feels good, but as Anke becomes part of the team, her confidence builds. When she learns to yell “Mine!” to call a ball, she finds a voice she didn’t know existed. For the first time, Anke is seen and heard. Soon, she’s imagining a day that her voice will be loud enough to rescue everyone at home—including herself.

This one is hard to review. I was happy with what the author accomplished, showing this broken family and following the broken youngest daughter and how she develops into something that she consider more than just furniture. But at the same time, I don’t really care for the poetry-style novels like novels by Ellen Hopkins. They are super fast to read but I feel when I read them that I’m missing out a lot because I’m not getting as much detail. I think I used to like those types of novels but now I’m just over it.

This one is hard to grade…I’m going to give it three stars because I didn’t like the writing style so much but the content was good…

3bats

Comment for me baby!

