REVIEW: The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.”

When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first.

This book took me a long time and I’m not sure why. Well, maybe a little of it’s because it’s ginormous. But other than that I have no idea why it took so long. I loved the book. There were times when I thought it was a little slow but it would pick up and be amazing so fast that it was hard to notice. I love the main character Evie. I think she’s great and multi-layered. The supporting characters are all really good too. The killer is horrible and unpredictable.

This is my second Libba Bray book and it will not be my last. She is an amazingly accomplished story teller. I can’t wait to find out what happens with our characters in the next installment. I think the next one is going to center around Memphis and Theta. That will be very interesting but I hope Evie is still in it a lot.

4bats

Comment for me baby!

