REVIEW: Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles #1) by Gena Showalter

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

Here are things you should already know about me:
1. I love Alice in Wonderland
2. I love Gena Showalter (at least her YA reads)
3. I love hawt alpha dudes

Now, do I love this book? Well, if you’d read my list and know anything about this book you would respond with a resounding “duh!” I loved it. It has replaced Cinder by Marissa Meyer as my fave of the year.

Ali has got to be one of the greatest characters of the year. She’s witty and sassy even when she’s melting or being torn apart inside. I love that she stands up for her self verbally and physically. Not only does she fight zombies but she flat out lays some girls out! Love it! (They totally deserved it – well, most of them)

Cole is a bad boy, through and through with some definite alpha male, demanding qualities that we all love. Especially when the girl stands up for herself. Personally I hate it when it’s a weak willed girl with an overbearing man, regardless if he’s sexy. And that was not the case in this one, oh no it wasn’t! The only thing I disliked about Cole was his tattoos. I just pictured them as prison tattoos. And when you have 30 of your own, if a character you like is going to have tattoos you want them to be pretty.

The other characters elicit strong emotions but I won’t go into it in this review, it’ll just get too long.

Last note: perfect mix of romance and action

5bats (1)

Comment for me baby!

