GUEST REVIEW: Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness #1) by Tamora Pierce

Hi. My name is Weronika, and I’m a book-aholic. So much so that I have to actively NOT read so I can maintain some normal semblance of life. My life is poorer for it I know, but I tend towards the obsessive the moment I open the cover of my most recently chosen novel. However, after a recent trip to visit my good friend tattogirlreads for an annual book convention, this has changed. No more do I stop myself from clicking the “1-click” purchase button on the Kindle Store. No more do I reply pleasantly when family members try to get my attention, but simply grunt angrily at them for interrupting my reading. And so, because of my newly reignited stalker-like obsession with books, tattoogirlreads has requested I submit some reviews as a guest blogger. I have read many recently released YA books, so I promise I will get to those with my own personal thoughts on them, but I wanted to start out with some stories that have been responsible for my love of reading, and that are books I go back to over and over again. And so, without further ado, I give you The Song of the Lioness:

“From now on I’m Alan of Trebond, the younger twin. I’ll be a knight.” And so young Alanna of Trebond begins the journey to knighthood. Though a girl, Alanna has always craved the adventure and daring allowed only for boys; her twin brother, Thom, yearns to learn the art of magic. So one day they decide to switch places: Disguised as a girl, Thom heads for the convent to learn magic; Alanna, pretending to be a boy, is on her way to the castle of King Roald to begin her training as a page.

But the road to knighthood is not an easy one. As Alanna masters the skills necessary for battle, she must also learn to control her heart and to discern her enemies from her allies.

Filled with swords and sorcery, adventure and intrigue, good and evil, Alanna’s first adventure begins — one that will lead to the fulfillment of her dreams and the magical destiny that will make her a legend in her land.”

Though at first you may not want to pick this book up because the heroine is only 11-years old, don’t let that sway you away. Tamora Pierce has created several series in the universe of Tortall, all of which start out with our protagonist as a child, and we get to see them grow into the heroes we know they can be. Alanna is fierce, opinionated, determined, has a prickly temper, and will never back down from her goal – to be a knight of the Realm. She is probably my first girl-crush, and she’s also something that you won’t find in a lot of current YA fiction. A female character who isn’t ruled by the decisions she must make about the men in her life. But don’t despair! There’s romance a-plenty, but it’s not the cornerstone of the book, nor the series. As with her other Tortall books, Tamora Pierce created role-models any girl could look up to, ones that weren’t opposed to falling in love, nor denied it when it appeared, but also ones who knew who they were outside the scope of that love.

The Song of the Lioness also introduces us to my first ever, literary bad-boy crush – George Cooper (alway imagined he’d look kind of like Gerard Butler ;).

Alanna is a girl posing as a boy, and in her journey to achieve knighthood she is poised to create history. The four books in this series: Alanna: The First Adventure, In the Hand of the Goddess, The Woman Who Rides Like a Man, and Lioness Rampant. Not only is Alanna an awesome (and flawed) character, but there are oodles of people you’ll learn to love and hate in these books. If I could, I’d be best buds with George and Raoul! I really hope you take the chance to check this series out. It’s a great adventure, and it’s followed up by more. In the series’ that follow The Song of the Lioness, you get revisit with the characters you fell in love with when you first met Alanna, and see what life has had in store for them. It’s way better than having to deal with those pesky epilogues at the end of a beloved series that never really cut it.

Thanks for reading! I hope you’ll check out my next guest-review, and that you’ll reply with comments of your own. Byee!

4bats

One thought on “GUEST REVIEW: Alanna: The First Adventure (Song of the Lioness #1) by Tamora Pierce

  1. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful information with us.

    Like

Comment for me baby!

