REVIEW: Uprising (Children of the Gods #2) by Jessica Therrien

Elyse has done everything she can to protect her friends from The Council’s reach. As long as they believe she’s dead, she has time to rest and train for war. And war is inevitable.

When Kara arrives with the news that Anna and Chloe have been captured, Elyse is faced with the realization that no one is safe until The Council is stopped and Christoph is destroyed. She doesn’t need a prophecy to tell her to lead an army. Christoph has done the one thing that ensures she’ll fight to the death. He’s threatened the people she loves.

It will take more than the words of an oracle to help them fight against the most powerful Descendant alive. To break The Council’s oppression and rise up against a plot so many years in the making, Elyse will need to get dangerously close to her enemy. So close, in fact, she may not survive.

Received E-ARC from author

What a good second installment! I actually liked it more than the first! Elyse grew so much and grew on me. If you remember right, Kara was my favorite character in the last book and while Elyse still didn’t surpass her in this one she was VERY close πŸ™‚ I just loved her development. It was so believable. She was strong only because she had to be. She didn’t turn into Supergirl which was refreshing. So many authors make that mistake, to turn their shy heroine into a super badass. Jessica Therrien didn’t do that. Thank God.

Her relationship with William was a tad on the mushy side at first but AGAIN Therrien put in some solid plot moves that wowed me. I’ll leave them untold since it’d ruin the ride for you.

We several new characters, one in particular that I especially liked. His name is Alex and he’s Kara’s sort of love interest. Hey Jessica, can I get a spin-off? Pretty please?

The only real thing I could have asked for was a tad bit more recap at the beginning. I read the first book in February of 2012. I would of appreciated a little bit more to jog my memory but other than that I thought it was a great book with a solid plot and dynamic characters.

If you want to read my review for Oppression go here

Stay tuned! Tomorrow I’ll be back with the Uprising Blog Tour and questions answered by the author herself

4bats

One thought on “REVIEW: Uprising (Children of the Gods #2) by Jessica Therrien

  1. I like the idea of a spin-off πŸ™‚ Thanks for the review!

    Like

Comment for me baby!

