UPRISING BLOG TOUR/GIVEAWAY: Interview with Jessica Therrien

Hey guys! Guess who got another chance to have Jessica Therrien the author of Oppression and Uprising answer a few questions? Yep, that’s me 😀

This is another addition of Authors Who Rock My Socks Off

1.Who is your favorite character in Uprising? Why? Did it change from the first book to the second?

I think my favorite character will always be Elyse, simply because I relate to her so much. Aside from her, I love Alex & Mac. They were so much fun to write. Much like Kara was in the first book, Alex & Mac were very loud/clear voices in my head.

2. If you could pick a special ability for yourself, what would it be? What would your bloodline be?
I’d pick Alex’s bloodline. He’s of Aether, god of the upper air of heaven. I love his ability.

3. When Kara is teaching Else to fight, she really seems to know what she’s talking abou. Have you taken some sort of fighting lessons?
Not at all! I wish though. I did a ton of research on fighting techniques. I watched videos & read about it before I wrote the scene.

4. Did it take you a long time to come up with a dart gun or was that instant magic when you knew Elyse needed a weapon?
It was “instant magic” as you put it, haha! I knew she needed a way to utilize her power, and the dart gun was the perfect weapon for her.

5. In Uprising you addressed something I had been wondering about since the first novel:

“Sometimes I feel like I should be wiser,” I said. “I mean I’ve lived ninety years. Why do I feel so naive?”

“I think everyone’s different. There are old souls and young souls. For a lot of us we act as old as we feel. Who wants to walk around acting like a grandpa, right?”

Was this your plan all along? To have them act as young as they feel/look?

You know, when we were going through content edits with Oppression my publisher mentioned the “act your age” issue. I made the argument that they should act the way they look. I tried putting myself in their shoes. I just couldn’t imagine looking young and acting old. It didn’t fit. Besides, I honestly believe that there are young souls & old souls despite how many years we’ve lived. As for addressing it in the second book…apparently not everyone saw it my way, haha…so I added in that explanation.

Thanks again Jessica for answering my many questions. (I actually had to pick and chose my questions so I wouldn’t have over five ^.^)

Jessica is collecting comments throughout the blog tour. So leave a comment to have a chance to win a poster, notebook, and signed copy of Oppression

7 thoughts on “UPRISING BLOG TOUR/GIVEAWAY: Interview with Jessica Therrien

  1. That’s a really interesting point about looking young and therefore not acting old. I think it makes sense. 🙂

    Like

  2. I buy the act the way you look theory. I don’t look almost fifty and I certainly don’t act it.
    And all Alexes have cool abilities…
    Excellent interview, ladies! Some interesting questions.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the interview! 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for the chance to win!
    Sounds like a great read!!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    Like

Comment for me baby!

