REVIEW: Hidden (Avena #1) by Marianne Curley

For as long as Ebony can remember, she’s been sheltered. Confined to her home in a secluded valley, home-schooled by her protective parents, and limited to a small circle of close friends. It’s as if she’s being hidden. But something is changing in Ebony. Something that can’t be concealed. She’s growing more beautiful by the day, she’s freakishly strong, and then there’s the fact that she’s glowing.

On one fateful night, Ebony meets Jordan and she’s intensely drawn to him. It’s as if something explodes inside of her–something that can be seen from the heavens. Ebony still doesn’t know that she’s a stolen angel, but now that the heavens have found her, they want her back.

Provided by NetGalley! Thanks!

This review will be slightly spoilerish so bear with me or skip reading this review and head to the rating. I’m going to go bullet point style.

Things I liked
– The descriptive details: settings, demonic creature/angelic descriptions, fight scenes, etc. were very nicely described and imaginative
– Thane: The way he searches for Ebony and cares for Jordan is very nice. He is an all around likable character but I picture him with black hair instead of blonde lol.
– Jordan. I like him and his hard-luck attitude. He has fight and spunk but being very real.His life story is very interesting and makes his attitude all the more believable. I like that he has and does experience pain but that he doesn’t let it overcome him.
– The interesting Angel mythology: Honestly I’ve only read Hush, Hush and the bible when it comes to angels so this was an interesting take. It was similar and yet different enough from what I’ve been taught as a child to be believable.
-The beginning: Pretty fast paced.
-The end (mostly): The climax fight scene was pretty spectacular and original.
– Ebony potentially has very interesting abilities but the author didn’t exercise this is the first book. This is good because I’ve seen a growing trend where the main character is seemingly normal but then BOOM he/she is a sudden all around badass. While this works sometimes…sometimes it doesn’t. I was happy to see that.

Things I didn’t like
-Ebony: She’s the main character and I wanted to be able to like her but she just seemed to fragile and relied on others way too much. I like a fighter in my main female. I saw a perfect opportunity for her to stand up for herself but she didn’t.
-Destined Love: Preordained love? Pa-lease. The best part of falling in love is the falling part, the swirls of emotions, the insecurities, the uncertainties, etc. Plus when the character is in insta-love it’s fairly unbelievable. Just as an aside: Love at first sight and insta-love are different for me.
-The middle: boring.
– The end (sort of): I really think this could have been a stand alone. The very end makes you aware that there will be a sequel, but it felt like at the end the author was like: “Let’s make this into a series!” and then went back to a few places in the book and threw in more Adam Skinner. It felt a little disjointed the two times he shows up once he’s “changed.”
-Plot hole: When did Ebony find out she’s Jordan’s guardian angel? I mean, he knows it from the beginning but I don’t remember the moment when she found out. (Maybe I’m wrong?)

Will I read the sequel? Maybe/Probably. I want to read the synopsis first. Do I want to ask the author questions about inspirations and technical stuff? Absolutely! Maybe I should send her an email… 🙂

3bats

Comment for me baby!

