Authors Who Rock My Socks Off/Giveaway: Tessa Gratton

Yes it’s time for another Authors Who Rock My Socks Off! This is another author that I’m extremely excited to have my questions answered by. I had a ton of questions but only limited it to five…maybe someday she’ll let me have a reprise πŸ˜€

The author I’m talking about is the very talented Tessa Gratton!Tessa is pictured on the left, that’s your’s truly on the right. (Duh, I’m going to post a pic where I’m with her) Why does she rock so much? She’s very unique in a world where books are very similar. I found that when I read Blood Magic I had read the most original work since I’ve been back in America. I got back in July 2011 and that still holds true.

Awesomeness Written by Tessa Gratton
Novels
Blood Magic (Blood Journals #1)
The Blood Keeper (Blood Journals #2)
The Lost Sun (The United States of Asgard #1)

Anthologies
THE CURIOSITIES: a collection of stories.
DEFY THE DARK
GRIM: An Anthology of Dark Fairy Tales
WEREWOLVES AND SHAPESHIFTERS: Encounters with the Beasts Within
CORSETS AND CLOCKWORK: 13 Steampunk Romances
TALES FROM THE FAR WEST

There are also several of her Merry Fates short stories on her website

Q & A of Awesome

1. If you could duel one of your characters, who would it be?

Do I get a gun, or is this a sword duel? If I get a gun, well, probably Josephine from Blood Magic because she deserves it, and also I don’t trust her aim. If it’s a sword… Mab from The Blood Keeper. She doesn’t have the patience for sword work. I can’t duel any of the characters from The Lost Sun, because they train in combat their whole lives.

2. If you could sum up your whole life into a single flavor, what would it be? What do you think your life would taste like?

Spicy salsa! It’s a staple in most places, but complicated and varied, but also easy to make.

3. You’ve said before that you had to cut some awesome ideas for Blood Magic. What kinds of things had to go?

Whew, this is a very spoilery/interesting question. I’ll say this: in the original drafts, Josephine stabbed Silla, but Reese saved her by switching bodies with her. So Silla survived, but was trapped in her brother’s body. I changed it because it was a very complicated new theme of gender and sexuality, and it distracted too much from what the book was actually about.

4. If you could meet one author, dead or alive, who would you meet and why?

Kit Marlowe, and hopefully get him to admit if he was a spy or not.

5. How long does it take you to come up with your characters names? Do you use name meanings or do you just pick names that you like how they sound?

It depends on the character, but all of them are named for a REASON. Either culture or parentage or a combination of both. Silla got her name bc that’s what her father would have named her, whereas Reese CAME with his name. Mab was named by Josephine (who is a little crazy, but loves poetry and Shakespeare), Will I needed a very strong, normal name. In The Lost Sun, there are some very specific cultural naming conventions because of the world-building I did.

GIVEAWAY TIME
All you have to do is leave a comment with your email address!

What do you get?
A copy of The Lost Sun (hardcover, kindle, or nook format) and some swag from Tessa herself! I don’t know what it is yet so we’ll all have to wait in anticipation.

Giveaway ends on July 4th (10pm CST)! As long as the book depository or ebook store delivers to your country you may participate! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Authors Who Rock My Socks Off/Giveaway: Tessa Gratton

  1. Fun Q&A! I like the idea of dueling a character. Though come to think of it, I don’t think I’d want to duel ANY of Tessa’s characters πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I like the Q & A especially your life being spicy salsa :). Mine would be rocky road (and I don’t even like it ;)). Thank you.
    vsloboda(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  3. I love that all her characters got their names for a reason.

    videoclimber(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  4. Thanks for the chance to win!
    Great Q&A!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

    Like

Comment for me baby!

