Red Hood and the Outlaws, Vol. 1: Redemption (Red Hood and the Outlaws New 52 Vol 1) by Scott Lobdell, Kenneth Rocafort (Illustrations)

No sooner has Batman’s former sidekick, Jason Todd, put his past as the Red Hood behind him than he finds himself cornered by a pair of modern day outlaws: Green Arrow’s rejected sidekick Arsenal, the damaged soldier of fortune, and the alien Starfire, a former prisoner of intergalactic war who won’t be chained again. As a loner, Jason has absolutely no interest in this motley crew of outlaws. So what’s he going to do when they choose the Red Hood as their leader?

collects issues #1-7

I loved this one! I knew absolutely nothing about Red Hood (other than “The Killing Joke”), Arsenal, or Starfire before this but now I have another good/not-so-good female, and two good guys that truly aren’t all that wholesome. Those are my favorite kind.

I found this super interesting and it made me want go back and find out as much as I can about Jason Todd, former Batman minion (Robin.) He’s got a major chip on his shoulder. I mean who wouldn’t if Joker killed you and when you were brought back to life you find out your mentor in life, Batman, didn’t avenge you.


Starfire is an alien and a princess trapped on Earth who joins Jason and his friend on missions. I feel like she does it more for entertainment than anything else but I love her. At one point she’s arguing with the other two about not being able to kill someone who tried to killer her. Arsenal tells her that when she’s on her planet that she can kill whoever she wants. She says something to the effect of, “Of course I’ll kill whoever I want. It’s my planet.” 😀

Arsenal was whatever. If he got his own spinoff I don’t imagine that I’d follow it. But as long as he’s with Red Hood and Starfire, I’ll read about his plight 😀

4bats

3 thoughts on “Red Hood and the Outlaws, Vol. 1: Redemption (Red Hood and the Outlaws New 52 Vol 1) by Scott Lobdell, Kenneth Rocafort (Illustrations)

  1. I was excited to read your review because I know absolutely nothing about these guys either! It sounds great!

    Like

  2. Pingback: TattooGirl Reads | REVIEW: Batman: Under the Hood (Batman: Under the Hood #1-2) by Judd Winick, Doug Mahnke (Illustrator)

Comment for me baby!

