REVIEW: Batman, Vol. 1: The Court of Owls (Batman Vol. II #1) by Scott Snyder, Greg Capullo and Jonathan Glapion

After a series of brutal murders rocks Gotham City, Batman begins to realize that perhaps these crimes go far deeper than appearances suggest. As the Caped Crusader begins to unravel this deadly mystery, he discovers a conspiracy going back to his youth and beyond to the origins of the city he’s sworn to protect. Could the Court of Owls, once thought to be nothing more than an urban legend, be behind the crime and corruption? Or is Bruce Wayne losing his grip on sanity and falling prey to the pressures of his war on crime?

Collects issues #1-7 of Batman.

I’ll start this off with letting you see exactly what I texted my husband when I finished reading The Court of Owls:

Me: “When you get home read the court of owls. It’s amazing. It needs to be in our collection.”
Hubby: “Ok!”
Me: “It’s freaking sweet”

Yep. I interrupted him at work to tell him how amazing this Batman comic is.

I didn’t like the art that much. I mean, it looked really nice I just didn’t like the character design. All the dudes had big square chins and looked like they were from the 50s. But I think it also made the story at times. There is a time when Batman sort of goes crazy and they way they drew him was very believable.

I loved how dark and creepy the story was. There is even a time when you have to turn the book different ways to read it. And it fits the mood completely. I also loved the back story from when Bruce was a child trying to deal with his parents death. Just fabulous.

The story is about this group called the Court of Owls that may just be a city urban legend or may be true and the lengths Batman has to go through to deal with them. “Beware the Court of Owls, that watches all the time, ruling Gotham from a shadowed perch, behind granite and lime. They watch you at your hearth, they watch you in your bed, speak not a whispered word of them, or they’ll send the Talon for your head.”

I’m going to read the second one shortly. Lucky for me I have it sitting on my table.

I checked this one out from the library but I’m going to buy it. It’s too good not to read again.

5bats (1)

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Batman, Vol. 1: The Court of Owls (Batman Vol. II #1) by Scott Snyder, Greg Capullo and Jonathan Glapion

  1. I have this in my tbr pile and have been eyeing it lately!

    Like

  2. Pingback: TattooGirl Reads | REVIEW: Batman, Vol. 2: The City of Owls (Batman Vol. II #2)

Comment for me baby!

