REVIEW: Batman Incorporated Vol 1 by Grant Morrison and Yanick Paquette

Grant Morrison continues his earth-shattering run on the Batman titles with this exciting new series illustrated by hot artist Yanick Paquette that features the next stage of evolution of the Dark Knight. Bruce Wayne publicly announces that he is the financial backer of Batman and establishes a worldwide franchise of Batmen that will protect the entire globe. This is the beginning of a stunning direction for the world’s greatest detective that will team him with Catwoman, Batwoman and Batman Inc representatives on international crime fighting missions against Lord Death Man in Japan, South America and Argentina.

Geh. This was my least favorite Batman so far. It was terribly confusing and a good chunk of the time boring. Half way through I actually posted on facebook and asked the other fans of comics if I should bother finishing it.

This is my second Grant Morrison Batman and I don’t know if I’ll read anymore by him or not but if you read my review for Batman Arkham Asylum you’ll know I have mixed feelings about the dude. I think sometimes people get popular just for pushing limits rather than doing things really well. (See Chuck Palaniuk who used to be awesome but just keeps trying to freak everyone one out with every new book he comes out with). But this is just my opinion. There are so many people out there who like Grant Morrison (and Chuck Palaniuk) and I can even appreciate what he did with Batman Arkham Asylum but I just think he needs to stick with the outrageous and this story was only part outrageous.

Just as a side note: I was told my my friend at Capeless Crusader that I would have been less confused if I had read Grant Morrison’s other Batman series first. This is probably true. But I’m not going to go back and sift through that stuff. Maybe later if I hear or read somewhere that it’s really important to the Batman legend.

There is one thing that I want to mention before I stop this that I thought was very cool…I loved seeing all the different Batmans that were created. I thought it was great. I just wish they were in a story I could have followed.

1bat

Comment for me baby!

