Wonder Woman, Vol. 1: Blood by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang , and Tony Akins

The first six issues of the critically acclaimed new WONDER WOMAN series are collected in hardcover! Hippolyta, queen of the Amazons, has kept a secret from her daughter all her life – and when Wonder Woman learns who her father is, her life will shatter like brittle clay. The only one more shocked than Diana by this revelation? Bloodthirsty Hera – so why is her sinister daughter, Strife, so eager for the truth to be told? Superstar writer Brian Azzarello creates a new direction for one of DC’s best-known heroes, with spectacular art by Cliff Chiang and Tony Akins!

I haven’t read a whole lot of Wonder Woman but I get the same feeling from all of them. That I like it well enough, it’s entertaining, but I don’t feel compelled to run out and get the next issue or graphic novel so I can continue the story. I am going to put it on my hold list from the library but I don’t think I’ll be purchasing this one for my home collection.

The art is wonderful and the story is decent. I just sort of want more from my lead heroine. I don’t think this is the author’s fault either. I just think it’s Wonder Woman in general. She’s cool but she seems to always be written as the good daughter who does what she’s told and when she does something else then she’s full of regret. It just seems a bit out dated even for a modern comic. Then again, I haven’t read that much Wonder Woman and maybe I’m just reading the wrong comics.

3bats

2 thoughts on “Wonder Woman, Vol. 1: Blood by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang , and Tony Akins

  1. You are so lucky your library has the New 52 collection!

    Like

Comment for me baby!

