REVIEW: Batman: Under the Hood (Batman: Under the Hood #1-2) by Judd Winick, Doug Mahnke (Illustrator)

Batman is confronted with a hidden face from the past — it’s the return of the vigilante Red Hood who appears to be Batman’s one-time partner Jason Todd, the same Jason Todd that died many years ago. But the Red Hood’s violent ways pit him against the Dark Knight in his hunt for the very person responsible for his death: The Joker.

Do you guys remember my Red Hood and the Outlaws Review? If not let me just give you a quick sum up: I really liked vigilante Jason Todd. He was pretty much Batman (only in skill) that kills (thereby lacking Batman’s Moral Code). For some reason Jason was much more likable in the New 52 version than this one.

Don’t get me wrong. I loved this! But Jason I didn’t love. It was hard to read about all of Bruce’s emotions and how he was dealing with so much death and how he’d changed so much because of it. It was hard to see the torment between both Jason and Bruce.

Jason was very disagreeable and pretty much killed every bad guy he could find. He wasn’t likeable at all but he was still very cool. I was happy to see some more of his history from before and after his transformation to Red Hood.

Another cool part was the bad guy. This is the first time I’ve read anything significant with Black Mask and he was a deplorable character which made him a great villain.

Now I want to read more about Talia…PS: The art was great too.
5bats (1)

Comment for me baby!

