REVIEW: Animal Man, Vol. 1: The Hunt by Jeff Lemire, Travel Foreman

One of the breakout hits from DC Comics – The New 52! In these tales from issues #1-6 of the new series, Buddy Baker has gone from “super” man to family man – but is he strong enough to hold his family together when Maxine, his young daughter, starts to manifest her own dangerous powers? As these new abilities continue to terrify Buddy and his wife Ellen, things take a turn for the worse as Buddy and Maxine begin a journey into the heart of The Red. Don’t miss the amazing series from writer Jeff Lemire (SWEET TOOTH) and artist Travel Foreman (The Immortal Iron Fist)!

Okay. I knew it was going to be weird before I started it. I mean, take a second and look at that cover and tell me you don’t think it’s weird. It is. The cover is. The story is. The art is. It’s just freaking weird. Was it weird good? No. I’m the minority in this one because on goodreads it has an average of 4.03 stars. So know that lots of people do like it. I’m just not one of them.

I thought it was pretty gross with a disturbing plot line. I have a whole bunch of questions since I read the first volume. Unfortunately (fortunately?) I’m not going to ever find out because I’m not reading any more of these.

I’m trying to read all the volume ones of the new 52 so I’m exposed to more than just Batman…but this kind of made me want to just stick with the normal super heroes.

1bat

Comment for me baby!

