REVIEW: Batman: The Black Mirrorby Scott Snyder, Jock, Francesco Francavilla

A NEW YORK TIMES #1 Bestseller and Amazon Best Book of 2011.In “The Black Mirror,” a series of brutal murders pushes Batman’s detective skills to the limit and forces him to confront one of Gotham City’s oldest evils. Helpless and trapped in the deadly Mirror House, Batman must fight for his life against one of Gotham City’s oldest and most powerful evils!

Then, in a second story called “Hungry City,” the corpse of a killer whale shows up on the floor of one of Gotham City’s foremost banks. The event begins a strange and deadly mystery that will bring Batman face-to-face with the new, terrifying faces of organized crime in Gotham.

I’m not really sure why this was Amazon’s Best Book of 2011. I can’t remember what else came out at that time but apparently the bar was low if this made it as the best book. It wasn’t terrible but I thought it was mediocre. What it lacked in solid plot it made up for in over the top gruesomeness.

You’re probably asking what I mean by “solid plot,” because there is an overall plot that spans both stories but there are a couple of big questions that get left unanswered. I’ll not give you too many details because it would spoil it for you but my biggest questions is; what’s up with Tiger Shark? That just melted into nothing…

Next up, what do I mean by gruesome? Dismembered bodies, a young boy that turns into a monster, family ties, etc. In general it was just effed up.

The art really fit the mood of the story. I was happy with that. It was also really cool to see Dick Grayson as Batman. I liked that because he has more commentary and I love the acrobatic fighting style.

I guess I’ll end with it didn’t feel like a Batman comic. Batman comics are dark and I haven’t read all of them but recently I’ve read a lot and even the dark ones didn’t feel this sinister.

2bats

One thought on “REVIEW: Batman: The Black Mirrorby Scott Snyder, Jock, Francesco Francavilla

  1. Reblogged this on Dweeb Feed and commented:
    I dont think I could find a more interesting post on this whole site :3

    Like

Comment for me baby!

