REVIEW: Aquaman, Vol. 1: The Trench by Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, Joe Prado

The King of the Seven Seas Aquaman returns to his very own ongoing series for the first time in years at the hands of DC Entertainment Chief Creative Office Geoff Johns, who reteams with GREEN LANTERN collaborator artist Ivan Reis! Between proving himself to a world that sees him as a joke, Aquaman and his bride Mera face off against a long buried terror from the depths of the ocean!

So I didn’t know that Aquaman was the joke of the superhero world. I mean, I get it. He’s like Heart from Captain Planet, but still, I didn’t know it was that bad…or that he actually got made fun of in the comics.

Do I think Aquaman is a joke? Nope. I thought he was awesome. But truthfully, Mera was a million times cooler. She’s like Starfire where she’s sort of amoral. She’s learning way more than Starfire (from what I know) and is attempting to understand humans but she’s not quite there yet. I also love it that she’s tough as nails. She just doesn’t tolerate crap.

The story was pretty good. I’m excited to read the next volume. I’m really hoping that I’m going to get a whole lot more backstory on how Aquaman and Mera got together. I realize they were at war at one point but this book just kind of skimmed over the details. Details are very necessary.

As for the art, it was amazing. I was more than satisfied with it.

“Aquaman got mad sharks!!!”

3bats

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Aquaman, Vol. 1: The Trench by Geoff Johns, Ivan Reis, Joe Prado

  1. Oh I was excited to see what you would have to say about Aquaman. I used to love reading him when I was a kid but I haven’t read him since except as a part of JL. And I really like him too and wondered if I’d like this, sounds like I would.

    Like

Comment for me baby!

