REVIEW: Batman Son of the Demon

Like always when I’m trying to explore some character or plot point, I went to Josh Epstein, I asked for some books that involved Ra’s Al Ghul and Talia. I’d seen bits and pieces of stories where they were in it. I’d seen their interactions in the Batman video games but didn’t really know what was up. Josh didn’t even have an answer for me. Instead, David Letter, the news editor for Capeless Crusader gave me some suggestions. First up was Batman: Son of the Demon.

I finally got my hands on it but when I flipped it open I was not so excited about reading it…I’ve gotten spoiled with recent art styles and rich colors. It all looked washed out. It was written when I was 13 though so I guess I shouldn’t really complain.

But then the story was really predictable and Talia, who I thought was going to be super tough, was a let down and the story was really slow paced. I’m glad I read it because I got a little more insight into some of the foundations of Batman but really and truly I was bored.

David also recommended Death and the Maidens. I’m still trying to get my hands on it. Maybe I’ll like it better.

(Cross posted on Capeless Crusader and Tattoogirl Reads)

2bats

Comment for me baby!

