Comic Read-A-Thon: Justice League Dark Volume 1

Today is my day off and I’ve decided to have a read-a-thon! I’m reading comic book issues and graphic novels all day. I’m going to see how much of my to-read pile I can finish today. This was a sudden decision so lets see how far I can get!

I only actually have to leave my house once so I think I can get through a chunk!

Let’s start the reviews! (All will be short and to the point since I’ve got to get reading more)

As a part of the acclaimed DC Comics – The New 52 event of September 2011, a new type of super-team must come together when supernatural forces threaten the DCU – Justice League Dark!The witch known as The Enchantress has gone mad, unleashing a wave of chaos that not even the combined powers of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman and Cyborg can stop. Shade the Changing Man, Madame Xanadu, Deadman, Zatanna, Mindwarp and John Constantine may be our only hope – but how can we put our trust in beings whose very presence makes ordinary people break out in a cold sweat? Critically acclaimed writer Peter Milligan brings together an unorthodox team for the most unnatural threats. With stunning art by up and coming star Mikel Janin, Justice League Dark Vol. 1 visits the unexplored corners of the DCU!

This one was mediocre but it has set up a story like that I’m extremely interested in. I like most of the characters so far, Zatanna is a badass chick, Deadman I’ve already thoroughly enjoyed in his graphic novel and he doesn’t disappoint in this one, John Constantine is epic and I can’t wait to read more about him (one of my favorite movies too) and Xanadu seems pretty cool but weak. I’ll decide if I like her and Shade later.

The story set up was just weird and even though I knew it would be I was hoping for a little bit more of a creative way for it to have turned out then it did. Whateves. I’ll still read the next one.

3bats

Comment for me baby!

