REVIEW: Rebel Heart (Dust Lands #2) by Moira Young

Saba thought her world would return to normal after they defeated the Tonton and rescued her kidnapped brother Lugh. The family head west for a better life and a longed-for reunion with Jack. But a formidable enemy is on the rise. What is the truth about Jack? And how far will Saba go to get what she wants?

Do you guys remember way back to when I reviewed the first book in this series, called Blood Red Road? I gave it a 5/5 and it was my favorite read of 2011. Unfortunately, this book gave me the second book blues. I listened to the audiobook and I started it in April. It is now September and I only now finished it.

It had a lot of the YA classic 2nd book tropes. In the first book, young love sparked and set us on fire. In the second book they are ripped from each other. Our heroine makes stupid decisions while trying to get to heart’s desire. It was also really boring for two thirds of the middle but had a pretty cool ending. I hate to be one of those people but it was a lot like the second book of the Twilight series…sorry. Yeah. I said it.

I still loved the authors voice and how even though the language and grammar were terrible (it’s totally supposed to be since there is no longer a written language and people just learn from their parents and then mistakes multiple and then you end up with what our main characters speak) you still saw how smart everyone is.

Am I glad I read it? Yes. Will I read the next one? Yes. Will I re-read it? No. Will I recommend it to others? Yeah…but with reservations.

Audiobook Review:
Length: 11 hours, 23 min
Narrators: Heather Lind
Thoughts on Narrators: Just as good as the first one. Love her.

2bats

Comment for me baby!

