REVIEW: Green Lantern: Sinestro by Geoff Johns, Doug Mahnke

13227798

This wasn’t really what I was expecting from a New 52 Volume one. With most of the other restarts I’ve gotten a chance to familiarize with characters I didn’t really know about and get a glimpse of an origin story.

This was not the case in Green Lantern: Sinestro. I’m wondering if Green Lantern is like Batman: just the fact that most people know a chunk about the series, they don’t need to do a complete reboot. Is Green Lantern that popular with people who don’t read comics? I didn’t even watch the movie.

I know who Hal Jordan and Sinestro are just from reading random volumes that my husband has pushed on me. But now I started this one and Hal Jordan isn’t even a Green Lantern anymore!? I’m completely flabbergasted. Did I miss something?

It was an interesting enough story, but I just couldn’t get over this gargantuan information gap where I didn’t know what happened with Hal.

The art was pretty good, but the switch in style was really sudden and not what I was expecting. Filler?

So in the end, I was hoping for an origins story—at least a recap, of how Hal got his ring and how Sinestro became evil. I didn’t get any of that, but because I’ve read other random volumes I could follow the story.

3bats

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Green Lantern: Sinestro by Geoff Johns, Doug Mahnke

  1. The thing about this series is (and a few other comics in the new 52) was that this wasn’t a complete reboot. They decided to continue the new story after a certain point. This new Green Lantern takes place after the events if the War of the Green Lanterns arc right when Hal is stripped of his ring.

    Like

Comment for me baby!

