CLOSED GIVEAWAY: Authors Who Rock My Socks Off: Stephanie Guerra

I hope you all are as excited for our honored guest and author, Stephanie Guerra, as I am. As usual, our guest star has answered five semi-ridiculous and hopefully fun questions for all of your amusement. Then at the end there will be a giveaway. Instead of just one digital book from me, Stephanie has also put up one book to be sent out to our winner so we will have two winners.

Words about Stephanie’s Novel from School Library Journal:
Starred review Gr 9 Up–Guerra’s gritty novel (Amazon Children’s Pub., 2012) is a spectacularly realistic portrait of a teen torn between her former friends and the new girl in school, running the family household and having fun in high school, and being a friend who goes along with anything or one who really cares. Often stories like this are moralistic, with the good girl celebrated and the bad one shunned. But sometimes the choices aren’t so clear-cut… This is a wonderful story with real characters in real situations…–Joan Kindig, James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA

Q & A
1. In Torn, there is a fight on the quad, have you ever gotten into a school fight?
No, but I’ve seen plenty of them. My closest experience to a fight happened at age fourteen. I was surrounded by girls threatening to beat me up, and a friend intervened and talked them down, allowing me to escape. It happened at night in an isolated spot, and was very frightening. It was also a great life lesson about the power of sticking up for others who are being bullied.

2. Did you draw on any personal experiences when writing about Stella’s rough but wonderful life?
Yes. I drew on my memories of strong high school friendships. I had a very dear friend who was different from me in many ways, but a source of constant moral support. She and I helped each other through some challenging situations. More than anything, that friendship inspired Ruby and Stella by giving me a sense of the ways that very different girls can love and support each other.

3. If you could sum up your whole life into a single flavor, what would it be? What do you think your life would taste like?
I think it would taste like black coffee: an acquired taste, but delicious and energizing when you’re used to it.

4. If you could meet one author, dead or alive, who would you meet and why?

I’d meet Dostoevsky. He’s my hero. He dove into some of the toughest, strangest aspects of the human psyche. I love his grasp of madness and intensity and drama.

5. If your book were to ever become a movie who would you pick to play your characters?

Ruby would definitely be Emma Stone. Stella would be Francia Raisa. Kenneth would be George Clooney. The others are all up for grabs!

Stephanie’s next book – Don’t forget to check it out!


Chance to win a digital or physical copy of the book (2 winners)

Click the rafflecopter link to take you to giveaway!

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

Comment for me baby!

