Bookish Tattoos: Fight Club

Bookish Tattoos is a meme that is inspired by a column at Rhymes With Geek. We’ll look at tattoos inspired by books! If you have a bookish tattoo and you’d like to be featured please send me a picture at Email Me (maibyers(@)gmail(dot)com) Until I get your submissions, I’ll just scour the internet!

Found at: The Cult

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

The first rule about fight club is you don’t talk about fight club.

In his debut novel, Chuck Palahniuk showed himself to be his generation’s most visionary satirist. Fight Club’s estranged narrator leaves his lackluster job when he comes under the thrall of Tyler Durden, an enigmatic young man who holds secret boxing matches in the basement of bars. There two men fight “as long as they have to.” A gloriously original work that exposes what is at the core of our modern world.

Add to Goodreads

Fight Club is one of the most quotable books of all time. It only seems fitting that people would get tons of quote tattoos about it. Actually I’m pretty surprised I don’t have one. But my favorite line in the book is a little ridiculous: “I want to have your abortion.” Yeah. Not getting that tattooed on me. Before I get any hate, it’s my favorite line for two reasons. One, it’s super ridiculous and made me laugh when I read it. Two, in the movie that was the original line but it got changed to “I haven’t been f***ed like that since grade school.” And the person who had the line changed in the first place wanted the original line back but it was a deal so it couldn’t be done.

Makes me wonder if anyone has a Choke tattoo. That might be gross…

Comment for me baby!

