REVIEW: Game of Thrones (Song of Fire & Ice #1) by George R.R. Martin

Note: This is something I read earlier in the year but didn’t review until now. Expect to see Song of Fire & Ice Review #2 soon.


In A Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin has created a genuine masterpiece, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill the pages of the first volume in an epic series sure to delight fantansy fans everywhere.

In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes of the north of Winterfell, sinister and supernatural forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the land they were born to. Sweeping from a land of brutal cold to a distant summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, here is a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, the fate of the Starks, their allies, and their enemies hangs perilously in the balance, as each endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

Add to Goodreads

I honestly didn’t want to read this. My husband and a bunch of my friends got into this and when they told me about it, it just seemed too heavy and too involved.

Then my husband started telling me about all the awesome things The Imp, Tyrion, did and how he deals with all the adversity that comes with his size in a time that doesn’t not deal with people that are different. He feels the pain but doesn’t let him take him over and in spite he conquors others. I loved hearing about that. So I started watching the show.

I watched the show first because it had less commitment involved. I decided if I liked it then I would read/listen to the book directly afterwards. That is exactly what happened. I finished season one and was completely in shock over the turn of events. I couldn’t believe that stuff actually happened in the story. I thought HBO took too many liberities or something like that. Nope. It just turns out that George R.R. Martin just hates all of his fans as much as we love his characters.

An amazing story unfolds when you read this. You start to love and love to hate every character (there is no middle ground). Crazy stuff happens in the plot that you would never expect.

I usually like stuff that set in modern times but I loved this and it took me completley by surprise.

Comment for me baby!

