Advanced Review: Solitary by CW Cooke


From the Kickstarter Page
A superhero story by way of Green Mile. When a hero is wrongly executed on death row, he awakens to find that he may just be immortal.

Solitary is the story of Tim Hill, a man convicted to death row for crimes he didn’t commit. He is executed, and upon being executed, he awakens to find that he is immortal and death row is really going to suck.

I’m lucky to have the opportunity to review this. The creator contacted me after asking for local reviews and my name was put forth by a mutal aquaintence. I had no idea that this was in the making and hadn’t heard about it’s kickstarter. So I’m guessing many of my readers also haven’t heard of it. Well, it’s time.

I was really happy with the premise. It’s not something I’ve seen before in the least. The set up is there is a man in prison for crimes he didn’t commit. Apparently, he was a superhero and then something happened. We don’t know what. But he finds himself in prison for crimes he says he didn’t commit with a warden that has a personal vendetta against him.

He is sentenced to death row and is executed. But here is the kicker, it doesn’t take. So he’s thrown back on death row with the promise of try, try, and try again.

If you read the kickstarter you’ll find that Solitary is the one store that CW Cooke has been going back to his whole life. I want to know what made him think about sending a superhero to the pen since he was a child. How did this idea develop? Regardless, it’s cool and unique.

This first issue is mainly about the situation. Personally, I don’t care too much about the character beyond the events that happen to him and why. I feel like that is usually the case for a good chunk of first issues. That said, I am really excited to find out what happens later on in the story.

Comment for me baby!

