Comic Review: Rocket Raccoon #3 by Skottie Young

Rocket Raccoon #3

Everyone’s favorite pistol-packin’ raccoon finally finds himself face-to-face with the intergalactic imposter. It’s macho ado about everything as Macho Gomez guest-stars and the Ex-Terminators are hot on Rocket’s tail!

Released: September 3rd

Check it out on Comixology

I’ve been a little out of the comic book loop because of my conference I was at last week and prepping for said conference the week before so I’m late on my review for Rocket Raccoon #3 but better late than never.

I’m going to sound like a hipster when I say this but I’m going to say it anyway: I have loved Rocket Raccoon since before the Guardians of the Galaxy movie. Done. Got that out of the way. Now, add Skottie Young to the picture and you put me in heaven. Skottie Young is one of those people who piss me off because he’s just too damned talented. He writes and he draws. That’s not fair you should be able to one or the other not both. AND then he’s funny on top of it all. Geh. I’m so jealous. But at least I get to read the fruits of his labors.

Every issue of Rocket Raccoon has been hillarious and this one is no different. Let me give you a good quote to illustrate: After a big guns-a-blazing fight with these guys that are a towing company. He’s still standing and his opposition is throwing their guns out the window: “I’m so glad you showed up. We have a little car trouble and we sure could use a tow. Or I could shoot you both. Your call.”

Super funny. Great art and great coloring. Normally I don’t mention the coloring. It usually doesn’t seem too important to me. It should because I feel like a lot of colorists don’t get enough credit. Let me give Jean-Francois Beaulieu some credit because it’s well deserved. He is damn amazing.

Check this out:

Page taken from Rocket Raccoon #3

Comment for me baby!

