Guest Review: Fatale, Volume 1: Death Chases Me by Ed Brubaker & Sean Phillips

The first arc of Image’s surprise hit is collected just in time for new readers to jump on board with issue 6!

Secrets, lies, horror, lust and monsters from the time before time all collide in FATALE: DEATH CHASES ME.

In present day, a man meets a woman who he becomes instantly obsessed with, and in the 1950s, this same woman destroys the lives of all those who cross her path, on a quest for… what? ED BRUBAKER and SEAN PHILLIPS best-selling series will leave you craving more!

Collects FATALE #1-5.

Add to Goodreads

Tentacle Monster Alert!

If I were going to start worshiping a demon, he’d have to be the sexy kind. Not some gruesome bastard with bad teeth, you know?
Also, I’d want to get some decent perks out of it.
Some sort of useful power would be nice, robes made out of that soft jersey cotton, and (most importantly) I’d like a nice insurance package. Maybe even toss in a 401k and some retirement benefits?
I’m just throwing that out there for any of you who are considering joining a cult. Don’t sell your soul to the first one that comes along.
Negotiate for the best deal.

What I wouldn’t want, for example, is for the highlight of the whole thing to be my head turning into some kind of an octopus/butt…complete with tentacles.
Some of you probably think I’m too picky about which monsters I devote myself to, but I like to think of it as being selective with my time. Devil worship can take a huge chunk out of your day, from what I’ve heard, and I’ve got a lot going on right now.
That means, in all likelihood, I won’t be joining a satanic sect anytime soon.
Although, I’m seriously thinking about giving the PTA a shot, and I’m pretty sure some of those ladies sacrifice animals in their spare time…

That being said, this was a pretty cool little graphic novel. I thought (because I didn’t read the blurb) that this was going to be a straight-up crime noirish thing.
I also thought it might be set near the ocean, since the folks on the cover look like they are being caressed by a squid.
Shockingly, I was wrong about that , as well.
This story fall into the horror/noir/mystery/paranormal crime/graphic novel category, I think.

The plot goes a little something like this:
There’s a guy who meets an irresistible girl, who used to be his godfather’s lover (there’s a story there), but for now she’s in a weird relationship with a crooked cop who love/hates her (which is another story), and the original guy wants to save her…sort of.
Oh, yeah. And she’s immortal or something.
Plus, there’s a group of Octopus-Demon worshipers who need to sacrifice Sexy Girl to their deity, in order to get rewarded with the Power of a Thousand Architeuthis (that means squids, by the way).

The art isn’t what I prefer to look at, since it’s all dark and pulpy, but it kind of grew on me by the end.
I’m doubt this one is for everybody, but I enjoyed it.

View all my reviews

Comment for me baby!

