REVIEW: Wool Omnibus (Silo, #1) by Hugh Howey

In a ruined and toxic landscape, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to protect them. Sheriff Holston, who has unwaveringly upheld the silo’s rules for years, unexpectedly breaks the greatest taboo of all: He asks to go outside.

His fateful decision unleashes a drastic series of events. An unlikely candidate is appointed to replace him: Juliette, a mechanic with no training in law, whose special knack is fixing machines. Now Juliette is about to be entrusted with fixing her silo, and she will soon learn just how badly her world is broken. The silo is about to confront what its history has only hinted about and its inhabitants have never dared to whisper. Uprising.

Add to Goodreads

** spoiler alert **

I disagree with the hype. I’m sorry. I felt this book had a lot of potential but it was honestly too long. I’m not saying that long books are bad. When it’s necessary, bring the pages, but when the story doesn’t need the length it just drags on.

I think almost the entire Holsten, Jahns, and Marnes, could have have been condensed into one or two chapters. Why do I need to know so much about people who are just killed off anyway? When I was reading it, I thought it was great but once it moved past their section to Juliette’s I just morned for characters that had very little impact in the rest of the story. They got the ball running, I get that, but it wasn’t necessary for us to care about them so much.

Also, Allison, who I thought was described in just enough length went nuts right? She wanted out. But what exactly did she see that drove her there? Was it the color monitor? Was it something else? It was the question I had the entire time but it never got answered. At least I don’t think it did. I could be wrong. Anyone know specifically what made her go nuts?

Here and there throughout Juliette’s story there was a little too much dragging but overall it seemed cohesive. I was very impressed with the world Hugh Howey set up. He also had amazing timing for revealing all his key details about the world. I was constantly waiting for new info and when I got it, wow, I was impressed.

The ending was a little bittersweet for me too. Even though it looks positive, Solo and the kids have to save themselves. I had hopes that Juliette would come back for them.

So the book had it’s ups and downs. I’ll probably read the other books from Hugh Howey and see how else he can break my heart.

Comment for me baby!

